Question about Capella

The cosmos at our fingertips.
mackmelo
Asternaut

Question about Capella

Post by mackmelo » Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:39 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm not so sure that this can be asked here. If not I would really appreciate your help in pointing me some good directions where to ask if it is not asking too much. Thanks.

Well, I am part of a discussion list and some doubts about Capella appeared and as I'm not a Scientists, nor Atronomer I am really in doubt with some "facts" posted there.

I know that the system is composed of two stars in a binary, that they are smaller than our sun, but of similar magnitude. The question that appeared in our group is if the system is known to have some planet. I tried do search for information over the internet but I could not find anything. Do you know if some info on that matter is already discovered? If there is NO possibility that Capella have a planet? Do we have the techniques to affirm that so peremptorely?

The other thing I would like to question is if there is some study on whether could be any kind of life form known to us that could survive under harsh environmental conditions, as the conditions found in Capella System (for example I discovered that their stars are much more brighter than our sun and that their x-ray emmisions are very, very high). Is there any data on that matter that someone here could help me with?

Well, as I said in the beginning, I'm not sure if this is the place for my questions. However, if you can help me, that will be awesome.

Thanks.

craterchains
Commander

Post by craterchains » Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:41 pm