How to help astronomy?

The cosmos at our fingertips.
Chostany
Asternaut

How to help astronomy?

Post by Chostany » Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:36 am

Hello everybody!

When I was a little kid, I visited an observatory that belonged to a university my mother used to teach at. I remember seeing Saturn's rings and Jupiter and a couple of it's moons. Ever since then, I have always loved astronomy. During high school I joined the astronomy club and did a couple of projects about Mars. I'm currently a student at a local community college debating on how to get more involved with astronomy. I'm really motivated to help develop this beautiful field of science and I'm hoping you could show me various ways in how to accomplish this.

For me, one of the most obvious ways would be to become an astronomer, but I'm interested in knowing about many educational and career paths that I could take. Building rovers, operating telescopes, maybe approaching it in computer science angle? Anything helps, from your experience, simple knowledge, and perhaps even hopes and dreams.

I'm sorry if it's too much of an open ended question, but I'm genuinely curious.

Would I need exceptional math skills? How long would I have to stay in school before trying to land a job? What would it really take for me to achieve my goal?

Thanks and I wish each and every one of you a Merry Christmas!

owlice
Guardian of the Codes

Re: How to help astronomy?

Post by owlice » Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:55 am

Please look at the AstroBetter wiki (http://www.astrobetter.com/wiki/); much of the information you seek is likely there/can be found via links available there.
A closed mouth gathers no foot.

MargaritaMc
Look to the Evenstar

Post by MargaritaMc » Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:34 am

owlice wrote:Please look at the AstroBetter wiki (http://www.astrobetter.com/wiki/); much of the information you seek is likely there/can be found via links available there.