Light and Gravitational Fields

Off topic discourse and banter encouraged.
SsDd
Science Officer
AKA: Abhi

Light and Gravitational Fields

Post by SsDd » Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:51 pm

Hello everyone,

A question on Light and gravitational fields,

I was engaging in friendly banter with an engineer friend of mine, and he proceeded to ask me, quite out of the blue, if light has its own gravitational field.

Initially, the question appeared to be rather strange, and I had not quite considered that question before (being an engineer myself). My initial reaction was, probably not, since photons are regarded as having no mass, hence they do not affect spacetime curvature the same way that mass does, but then again, mass is nothing by energy that occupies some space, and photos do have energy, so do they have their own gravitational field?

I dug in further, and came up with this link :- http://www.lightandmatter.com/html_book ... /ch08.html, Apparently, since photons contribute to the stress-energy tensor, they exert a gravitational attraction on other objects, according to the theory of general relativity.

Anyhooooooo, my question is now in the form of a thought experiment. if you were to shoot two theoretically perfect laser beams in vacuum, would they end up converging due to their own gravitational fields?

Thanks
Abhi

Chris Peterson
Abominable Snowman

Re: Light and Gravitational Fields

Post by Chris Peterson » Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:49 pm

SsDd wrote:I was engaging in friendly banter with an engineer friend of mine, and he proceeded to ask me, quite out of the blue, if light has its own gravitational field.
Yes, it does. Spacetime is bent the same way by either mass or energy (the two are equivalent, of course).