"hot" interstellar gas

The cosmos at our fingertips.
Kamienka
Asternaut

"hot" interstellar gas

Post by Kamienka » Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:21 am

I am a total newbie here, although I have been on APOD for years just as an ordinary reader.
My question is this: In many APOD pictures comments a "hot gas" is mentioned, referring to interstellar (molecular) gas, just like it is mentioned in the February 13th picture explanation - "visible light is white, while the X-ray light is blue and indicates the unusual presence of very hot gas".
Well, as far as I know, normal temperature of interstellar space is very near absolute zero, right? So, I suppose that anything "warmer" than that for about 100 degrees K should be considered "hot". Or am I totally wrong here?
Could anyone explain this? What is considered "hot" or "very hot" in interstellar space, dust or molecular gas? How hot must that gas be to be seen as a red glowing cloud by us?
Thank you.

starnut
Science Officer

Re: "hot" interstellar gas

Post by starnut » Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:04 am

Kamienka wrote: Could anyone explain this? What is considered "hot" or "very hot" in interstellar space, dust or molecular gas? How hot must that gas be to be seen as a red glowing cloud by us?
Thank you.
"Hot" in interstellar/intergalactic space is not the same as "hot" you feel on good old terra firma. The heat we feel is primarily infrared heat coming from the sun, the surrounding air, the parking lot on a hot day, and your room heater. The heat in the cold of space is not what you would feel on your skin. It is generated by the energy of the photons zipping along in vacuum and hitting the gas atoms floating around. It can only be sensed by instruments.