New! APOD software
Create file c:\1.html, and paste this code into it:
Then, go to desktop properties and set 1.html as your background. Voila:
8)
This works on my XP Pro/2002. I have many programming software installed, so there's a chance you are missing something I have. In this case, you may try to find it here, or forget it.
Code: Select all
<body bgcolor=black><table width=100% height=100%><tr valign=middle><td><img id=im src="" width=100%></td></tr></table></body>
<script>
d = new Date()
yy = d.getFullYear().toString().substr(2)
mm = (d.getMonth()+1 > 9) ? (d.getMonth()+1).toString() : ("0"+(d.getMonth()+1).toString())
dd = (d.getDate() > 9) ? d.getDate().toString() : ("0"+d.getDate().toString())
site_url = 'http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/ap' + yy + mm + dd + '.html'
var xhttp = new ActiveXObject("MSXML2.XMLHTTP");
xhttp.Open("GET", site_url, false);
xhttp.Send(); html = xhttp.ResponseText
// this parser is likely to fail if anything changes,
// but today it works
i1 = html.toLowerCase().indexOf("a href=\"image")
html = html.substr(i1 + 8)
i1 = html.indexOf("\"")
html = html.substr(0, i1)
im.src = 'http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/' + html
</script>
8)
This works on my XP Pro/2002. I have many programming software installed, so there's a chance you are missing something I have. In this case, you may try to find it here, or forget it.
today's APOD has broke the code above, since it was larger than my desktop. so I had to replace with , so now it looks just fine:
did it work for you, btw?
P.S.: I am thinking about how do I get rid of those black bricks under icons (i.e., how to make text background transparent)?
Code: Select all
<img id=im src="" width=100%>
Code: Select all
<img id=im src="" width=1024>
did it work for you, btw?
P.S.: I am thinking about how do I get rid of those black bricks under icons (i.e., how to make text background transparent)?
Hi,
This works perfect! I realy appriciate you made this script
My resolution is 1400x1050, so I changed it into 1370 as width, that causes the black border to the right to appear as well as to the left. When I use 1400, the border at the right is gone. Now it looks very nice
I changed one other thing in the script, an anchor around the imgage. So now when I click my desktop I'm send to the main APOD site where I can read what this is.
About the transparent background, I don't know exactly. I though WinXP did that automaticly, but here I have the same problem.
One solution I can think of is just have less icons on my desktop, just clean it up a bit
This works perfect! I realy appriciate you made this script
My resolution is 1400x1050, so I changed it into 1370 as width, that causes the black border to the right to appear as well as to the left. When I use 1400, the border at the right is gone. Now it looks very nice
I changed one other thing in the script, an anchor around the imgage. So now when I click my desktop I'm send to the main APOD site where I can read what this is.
About the transparent background, I don't know exactly. I though WinXP did that automaticly, but here I have the same problem.
One solution I can think of is just have less icons on my desktop, just clean it up a bit
-
- Ensign
- Posts: 59
- Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 3:46 pm
-
- Asternaut
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 2:35 pm
- Location: Michigan, USA
- Contact:
There is a program that allows you to do this, as well. APOD.
And fighting time, so hard I pray that this moment lasts forever.
And will the world stay standing still, at least for me.
Through my eyes stare into me, I bear my heart for all to see
With my face turned to the sun there ever standing still.
And will the world stay standing still, at least for me.
Through my eyes stare into me, I bear my heart for all to see
With my face turned to the sun there ever standing still.
There's no sourceSoftware/APOD wrote:You may not modify this software product in any way.
True. Windows only makes it transparent if background image is bitmap. So, for this nice feature to work with APOD image, script would have to actually download (save to disk) an image, and then replace current background with it. Any other optionsWilliam Roeder wrote:control panel/display/desktop/color allow you to change the color but unfortunately not the transparency.
....and it doesn't appear to do anything either...
Makc - do you think it might be an idea to put the script on the forum as a sticky? I suspect a lot of people would like to use/update it?
Makc - do you think it might be an idea to put the script on the forum as a sticky? I suspect a lot of people would like to use/update it?
I'm an Astrophysics Graduate from Keele University, England - doesn't mean I know anything but I might be able to help!
Here's html update to fix borders:lode wrote:...the black border to the right to appear as well as to the left. When I use 1400, the border at the right is gone...
Code: Select all
<body bgcolor=black style="margin:0; border:0;"><table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 width=100% height=100%>
Give me a good suggestion on transparency issue, and I will stick it.Empeda wrote:...it might be an idea to put the script on the forum as a sticky... I suspect a lot of people would like to use/update it
APOD needs a feed!
I love APOD (long time viewer, new forums subscriber), but it really, REALLY needs an RSS or Atom feed. That way, people can see a new APOD every day right in their feedreaders and update automatically. Heck, one could even write a script to make a person's desktop the APOD.
http://asterisk.apod.com/vie ... 309390b99d
Stray,
This thread has what you were talking about for your desktop.
Welcome to the food chain
Stray,
This thread has what you were talking about for your desktop.
Welcome to the food chain
-
- Asternaut
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:22 am
- Contact:
Thanks, kev1701e. The RSS feed is a good call.
Has the idea been raised to add an APOD Photocast? (A forum search yielded nothing.)
It's a special type of Blog that people can subscribe to via any RSS-compatible browser or RSS reader. The bonus is that if the subscriber has a Mac it will update right within their iPhoto 6 app. I think it takes a Mac to create, but can be read by anyone, PC or Mac. PC users just see it as a regular RSS feed. (I have not tried it myself though... anyone?)
http://www.apple.com/ilife/iphoto/featu ... sting.html
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html ... n/pc2.html
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html ... lp295.html
http://www.macworld.com/2006/06/feature ... /index.php
Heck, I bet with the right connections, Apple would pay to do it... it would be a great example of the otherwise under-utilized Photocasting concept.
btw, the PC desktop app doesn't have any option to view or download pics except putting it on your desktop.
Has the idea been raised to add an APOD Photocast? (A forum search yielded nothing.)
It's a special type of Blog that people can subscribe to via any RSS-compatible browser or RSS reader. The bonus is that if the subscriber has a Mac it will update right within their iPhoto 6 app. I think it takes a Mac to create, but can be read by anyone, PC or Mac. PC users just see it as a regular RSS feed. (I have not tried it myself though... anyone?)
http://www.apple.com/ilife/iphoto/featu ... sting.html
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html ... n/pc2.html
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html ... lp295.html
http://www.macworld.com/2006/06/feature ... /index.php
Heck, I bet with the right connections, Apple would pay to do it... it would be a great example of the otherwise under-utilized Photocasting concept.
btw, the PC desktop app doesn't have any option to view or download pics except putting it on your desktop.
Last edited by silentway on Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Asternaut
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:22 am
- Contact:
I looked into photocasts some more, and it looks even better. First, folks don't need to have a Mac or use iPhoto to subscribe to a photocast. Windows users can join the party too:
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php? ... 6102750285
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php? ... 4005259361
Then, how to create a photocast for free, without paying for Apple's .Mac hosting service:
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php? ... 2055330166
http://www.bubbleshare.com/
Flikr is another possibility, a Flickr album's feed can be read as a photocast using these free translators:
http://phlikr.3xi.org/
http://photocastr.com/
http://www.flickr.com/forums/ideas/1710 ... =photocast
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php? ... 6102750285
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php? ... 4005259361
Then, how to create a photocast for free, without paying for Apple's .Mac hosting service:
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php? ... 2055330166
http://www.bubbleshare.com/
Flikr is another possibility, a Flickr album's feed can be read as a photocast using these free translators:
http://phlikr.3xi.org/
http://photocastr.com/
http://www.flickr.com/forums/ideas/1710 ... =photocast
Code not longer working
Hi, I was looking for a way to capture APOD image for my personal web, and I've found this code but is not working for me. I followed all steps but is not longer working.makc wrote:Create file c:\1.html, and paste this code into it:
Then, go to desktop properties and set 1.html as your background. Voila:Code: Select all
<body bgcolor=black><table width=100% height=100%><tr valign=middle><td><img id=im src="" width=100%></td></tr></table></body> <script> d = new Date() yy = d.getFullYear().toString().substr(2) mm = (d.getMonth()+1 > 9) ? (d.getMonth()+1).toString() : ("0"+(d.getMonth()+1).toString()) dd = (d.getDate() > 9) ? d.getDate().toString() : ("0"+d.getDate().toString()) site_url = 'http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/ap' + yy + mm + dd + '.html' var xhttp = new ActiveXObject("MSXML2.XMLHTTP"); xhttp.Open("GET", site_url, false); xhttp.Send(); html = xhttp.ResponseText // this parser is likely to fail if anything changes, // but today it works i1 = html.toLowerCase().indexOf("a href="image") html = html.substr(i1 + 8) i1 = html.indexOf(""") html = html.substr(0, i1) im.src = 'http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/' + html </script>
8)
This works on my XP Pro/2002. I have many programming software installed, so there's a chance you are missing something I have. In this case, you may try to find it here, or forget it.
Any idea to fix the problem?.
Thanks in advance.
There can be two problems with above code:
1. it is IE specific;
2. it is subject to cross-domain browser security restrictions (and therefore works off your PC only, and not off the web).
It was meant to bring APOD to your desktop, not to your webpage. To put it on your webpage, you could:
1. either rewrite the code above into server-side language like PHP;
2. or use link from this post (by "ckam" warning: it redirects to FULLSIZE image).
I might spare some time to do 1 later (probably MUCH later).
EDIT: while trying to do 1, I was looking for an image to show whenever there are any errors, and found this:
which makes option 3 that you can use on your site this way:
1. it is IE specific;
2. it is subject to cross-domain browser security restrictions (and therefore works off your PC only, and not off the web).
It was meant to bring APOD to your desktop, not to your webpage. To put it on your webpage, you could:
1. either rewrite the code above into server-side language like PHP;
2. or use link from this post (by "ckam" warning: it redirects to FULLSIZE image).
I might spare some time to do 1 later (probably MUCH later).
EDIT: while trying to do 1, I was looking for an image to show whenever there are any errors, and found this:
which makes option 3 that you can use on your site this way:
Code: Select all
<a href="http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/" alt="APOD"><img src="http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/calendar/today.jpg" /></a>
-
- Asternaut
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:14 am
- Location: Texas
- Contact:
Problem with Desktop Background
I am a daily viewer & absolutely love the pictures that appear regularly as my desktop background. I usually try to view the explanation of the photo/s and sometimes I even grasp elements of the detailed explanation...(HA!)
However, the explanation headline always overlaps the first line of the script and is barely legible. When I am curious enough about reading the explanation, I go to the APOD website where I can actually read the first sentence of the explanation, but this should not be necessary everyday for everyone who uses this wonderful program as many of my friends do. I was not sure if anyone on your APOD team is aware of this glitch and have been wanting to bring this to someone's attention who can correct this daily flaw in the APOD desktop background. Possibly this is a problem with my PC, but I've made all the application ajustments I could find & none worked. I signed on to this forum specifically to try to get this annoying problem corrected. Please advise.
However, the explanation headline always overlaps the first line of the script and is barely legible. When I am curious enough about reading the explanation, I go to the APOD website where I can actually read the first sentence of the explanation, but this should not be necessary everyday for everyone who uses this wonderful program as many of my friends do. I was not sure if anyone on your APOD team is aware of this glitch and have been wanting to bring this to someone's attention who can correct this daily flaw in the APOD desktop background. Possibly this is a problem with my PC, but I've made all the application ajustments I could find & none worked. I signed on to this forum specifically to try to get this annoying problem corrected. Please advise.
Kerry Barger
-
- Asternaut
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:14 am
- Location: Texas
- Contact:
bad HTML ??? Paragraph tags ???
Sorry, I don't understand... Is this something I can correct or change?